A Simple Question to Ask Yourself Before You Post, Share, or Comment

Two days ago, Stephen Altrogge interviewed the anonymous author of Embracing Obscurity: Becoming Nothing in the Light of God’s Everything.  When asked about some practical ways we can fight our tendency to post, share, or comment online for people’s applause, this is what the author said:

I’m not trying to be too simplistic, but I think we need to ask ourselves a simple question before every blog post, tweet, Facebook update, etc.: “Am I posting this to make myself look good, or to make God images (62)look good?” In other words, am I posting this because I want others to think I’m cool, important or going places in life, or because I want others to think that God is awesome, all-powerful and has given them life? Am I posting because I’m convinced I need to raise a tribe of followers to successfully build my kingdom, or because what I have to say could potentially build God’s kingdom?

Click here for the whole interview.

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a comment