Showing Your Kids What God is Like: Initiating Love

images (61)This morning I am thinking about Romans 5:8 in reference to my parenting.  This familiar verse says, “…but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  What strikes me about this verse is that God loved us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still in our rebellion against him.  God loved us first.  In fact, God had to love us first or else we would never have escaped our rebellion.  Romans 3:11 states “…no one seeks for God”, so it was necessary that He seek us if were ever going to experience salvation and serve Him at all.  God had to initiate our relationship with him.

So, what does this have to do with parenting?  As redeemed people who have been made in the image of God, our calling is to show the world what God is like… this includes our children.  Therefore, I want my children to see me seeking them out as God has sought me out.  I do not want to be a father who only relates to my children when they come to me first, asking me to play with them or answer their questions.  On the contrary, I want them to expect that Dad is going to come after them in love – initiating talks, play-time, and the giving of help.

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

