The Best Old Testament Commentaries…and They’re Not Just for Pastors

downloadI had a birthday last week, and on top of an evening out with the family and lots of “Happy Birthday” Facebook posts, I was stoked to open the mailbox and find that I am still getting birthday money from my loved ones even though I’m 32 years-old.

So, I had a bit of a shopping spree on Amazon, and two books I jumped on quickly were the volumes I needed to complete my set of Dale Ralph Davis’ Focus on the Bible Old Testament Commentaries.  Davis was an Old Testament professor at Reformed Theological Seminary and now he is the pastor of Woodland Presbyterian Church in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.

Davis wrote the commentaries in this series for Joshua, Judges, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, and 2 Kings.  Last year I taught 1 Kings in my 12-18 year-old guys’ Sunday school class and found that his book was the best I had encountered in Old Testament commentaries.  It was solid theologically and extremely insightful without being lofty.  It was readable and accessible without being shallow… and I must say, pretty funny too.  I highly recommend his stuff!

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

