Why You Should Love Your Kids Fiercely

imagesIn my parenting, I often try to look for books, blog posts, illustrations, examples, and stories that I can use in pointing my kids to Jesus.  I aspire to be as creative and engaging as possible when it comes to sharing with my children the glorious reality of God and his old, old story, and sometimes, because of God’s mercy, I am successful… but other times, as when I try to turn their memory verses into songs on the spot, I end up pushing the boundaries of lame.

In regard to this goal of mine, the Lord moved my thoughts to a realization: one of the best things I can do in being a road sign to God for my kids is love them as fiercely as possible.  Wait a second, before you stop reading because you’ve heard this before, here’s the rub.  We should work hard at leaning on God’s grace and being the most loving parents we can be so that when our children recognize our love, we can tell them that God’s love for sinners through Jesus is infinitely better, thicker, deeper, and taller than ours.

Listen, God’s love for sinners who trust in Jesus will always be stronger than our love as parents, but if we are lousy parents or parents who are just trying to survive the current season of parenthood, then that does not say much about the greatness of God’s love.  To say that a restaurant is better than McDonald’s is not a stellar review by a long shot, but to say that it is better than the highest rated restaurant in the city gets people’s attention.

Let us pray for the Lord to give us ambition to be more than lousy at loving our kids, more than mediocre at loving our kids, more than common, more than good enough… so that when they say, “My parents truly love me”, we can say “Not nearly as much as Jesus loves those who trust in him.”  I believe that will bring much glory to God

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “Why You Should Love Your Kids Fiercely

Leave a Reply

