Everyone is a Sinner, and that Should Not Comfort Us

images (50)Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the reality that I can’t see Christ as the great savior that he is until I see my sin as the deep-seated rebellion that it is.  So, at a specific moment in the car as I was driving to the office last week, I asked myself the question, “Why don’t you see your sin as heinous and awful right now?”  After thinking for a few moments, I realized the answer: because everyone in this world is a sinner, and so is everyone who has ever lived in this world.

The fact that sin is in every single heart (save Christ’s) somehow causes me to feel as if my sin is not that bad.  There’s comfort in numbers, right?  Apparently, this thinking is not uncommon either, because I have heard it used to justify sin in believers and unbelievers alike.  Can you empathize?

If you can, imagine with me for a moment that a deadly airborne virus begins to move through some of the major U.S. cities.  The infection spreads  at a ferocious pace and yet the virus kills slowly and painfully.  Before a week is over the virus has spread to most of the U.S. and Canada and by the end of the month it has traveled to every continent.  Eventually, everyone on earth has been infected. As you imagine this, what are your thoughts in relation to this virus?  In its spread to every person on earth, has the virus become less savage, less cruel, less violent in your thinking?  Or does the spread of this virus to every person show you just how abominable it truly is and how desperate the earth is for a cure? In thinking of sin this way, suddenly, the fact that “none is righteous, no, not one” (Romans 3:10) stops being a way for me to justify my rebellion against God and it propels me, instead, to the  Great Physician who has the cure (actually, who is the cure) (Mark 2:17).  Praise God… he has given the cure!

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “Everyone is a Sinner, and that Should Not Comfort Us

Leave a Reply

