A Prayer for Fathers Who Provoke Their Children (That Means All of Us)

images (49)Gracious Father, you say in your Word, “Fathers, do not provoke your children, lest they become discouraged” (Colossians 3:21).

You know that I am prone to do this when I feel that my children have violated my authority, acting as if I am king of the universe.

But that’s just it, you are King of the universe and yet you do not provoke your children.  

All your responses to me, even when I am rebellious and disobedient, are perfectly measured according to your perfect wisdom and perfect love for me in Christ.

There is not an ounce of malice, vengefulness, or impatience in the way you father me.  For that I praise you and worship you!

I ask that you would remind me of your fatherly care for me often, and through that remembrance create a greater love for you and the children you have given me, so that I will be moved to treat them as you have treated me.  

Lord, I know I cannot be the father to them that you are to me, but please use my broken imitation of you as one of the means you employ in bringing them into the full delight of your family.

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “A Prayer for Fathers Who Provoke Their Children (That Means All of Us)

Leave a Reply

