How Jonathan Edwards Began His 70 Resolutions

images (44)I’m a New Year’s resolutions guy.  I know there have been plenty of Christian’s who aren’t and have good reasons for it, but for me the first of the year seems as good a time as any to re-focus and set goals for myself and my family.

With the talk of New Year’s resolutions comes a smattering of blog posts remembering or giving tribute to Jonathan Edwards’ 70 Resolutions.  These goals continue to be a help and a challenge to me, but there is something about these resolutions that I want to remind everyone today.  A focus on resolutions in my heart almost always means that I will be tempted to keep them with raw will-power and self-motivation.  Perhaps you can empathize.  Well, Edwards did, at least to some degree, which is why he penned this sentence before he started into his famous list:

Being sensible that I am unable to do anything without God’s help, I do humbly entreat him by his grace to enable me to keep these Resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to his will, for Christ’s sake.

Let us all make resolutions this year with the glory of Christ as our ultimate goal and plead with him for the grace we need to keep them.

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

