God Often Uses a Collection of People to Draw a Person to Himself

Many of the Christians I know came to faith in Jesus not through one faithful believer telling them the gospel, but through a collection of faithful believers telling them the gospel.  Alongside a faithful parent may stand grandparents, friends, Sunday school teachers, a pastor, acquaintances, and even that strange lab partner in high school chemistry with all his Christian paraphernalia.

I too am a product of God working through a collection of people carrying out the Great Commission, many of whom served in the church I grew up in.  These people were used to impress upon me different aspects of God’s character and work at different times and in different ways.

One such person was a man we’ll call Mr. K who was substituting for our regular fifth grade Sunday school teacher.  Mr. K and his family had been a part of our church as far back as I could remember and I genuinely liked him.  On the Sunday Mr. K filled in for our teacher he asked a question, “Why are we here?”  He wanted us to tell him the reason why we came to church each week.  Being the little punk that I was, I whispered an answer to my friend sitting next to me, “We’re just killing time.”  I won’t ever forget the fire in Mr. K’s eyes.  Almost immediately, he kicked me out of class and told me to go sit with my parents in “big church”.

Even though I wasn’t a believer, I learned something about God’s holiness that day.  Mr. K’s response to my flippant irreverence showed me that God is One who will be honored.  But that’s not all Mr. K taught me that day.  After class he came and found me with my parents and gave me a big hug and explained to me why he did what he did.  That day God also used Mr. K to show me something about the kindness of his grace.

My point is not, necessarily, that you should start kicking kids out of your Sunday school classes, but rather that you should thank God for each person in the collection of people he used to draw you to himself.  And then, to willingly put yourself in the service of God for others as you pray that he would use you in their collection.

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

