Toward a Christian, Social-Networking Ethic

As I wrote two weeks ago, I am trying to transfer more of my app-opening time to my Scripture Memory app from my social media apps.  I simply find that my goal in opening the Facebook app much of the time is to see who recognized my genius as demonstrated in the 125-character status update I posted.  As for Twitter, it often becomes for me a comparison fest as I say to myself things like “I wish I could come up with stuff like that” or “That guy’s tweet was totally obvious”.

I’m realizing more and more that how I have been using social media keeps me from what will make me more like Christ.  Paul tells us in 2 Corinthians 3:18, “And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another.”  We need to behold more of the glory of the Lord, but I am afraid what we’re often looking for on Facebook or Twitter is our own glory.  Christ must increase, but we must decrease, but this won’t happen as long as Facebook, Twitter, and the like are mirrors for us instead of conduits of God’s grace.

Now, I don’t think the answer is for Christians to jump ship.  I think we should use social media for the glory of God, to spread the gospel and reflect the beauty of our Lord, but this is going to require a better Christian ethic for using social media.

To this end, an anonymous author has contributed a book to the conversation – Embracing Obscurity: Becoming Nothing in the Light of God’s Everything.  My goal is to read this book and along the way blog through it’s highlights.  So please, feel free to grab a copy and read along or post comments so we can move together toward the end of cultivating a more God-centered social-networking experience.

My first post will be next week.  Here’s Tim Challies’ review of the book.

 

 

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

2 responses to “Toward a Christian, Social-Networking Ethic

  • Ben Whiting

    We’ve talked about this before. The entire premise of social media seems bent toward tempting us toward glory-thievery. All who would sail these seas well, beware!

    I look forward to your continuing thoughts on the topic.

Leave a Reply

