Why Dads Should Wrestle with their Kids and Tell them Stories

One of the most impacting and instructive chapters of Stephen Altrogge’s book, My Friend, My hero, My Dad, is titled The Memory Maker.  In it, Altrogge tells of the effect his father’s devotion to making memories had on him as he grew up.  Here’s an excerpt:

My dad was a master story-teller, and bedtime was story time.  We would settle down under the covers, eager with anticipation, ready for the next tale of adventure or eerie science fiction.  The characters in Dad’s stories often bore an uncanny resemblance to  members of my family.  Jack, Jimmy, and Ozzy Snozzy enjoyed adventures of the most incredible kind.

Parents, do we spend unhurried, fun time with our children at home?  Do we wrestle with them, tickle them, hug them, be silly with them?  The times my dad and I spent together being silly prepared me for the times we would spend together being serious.  The times of unhurried biblical instruction.

I already wrestle with my kids daily, but in light of these words, I began a story-telling series with my boys last night: The Adventures of Dude-Man: Defender of Justice and Bro-Man: Defender of Truth.

Lord, use this kindness to help cultivate listening ears and listening hearts for my children in the times of unhurried biblical instruction.

 
Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

