Missing Out on Beach-Reading for the Glory of God

Home again, home again jiggity jaw!  Is that how the expression goes?  Well… anyway, I just got back from vacation last week and found that I had less free time when I was off of work and out of my routine than when I was busting out the daily grind here at home.  Before we left for Florida, I had grand ambitions of sitting under an umbrella on the beach, listening to the waves as I buried my feet in the sand, and working through some of the books that I have on my summer reading list.

When we reached our destination we found that the weather was post-card perfect for hanging out on  the beach all day.  But the more and more I thought about it, I realized, “Oh yeah… Dude, you have kids… and their pretty small kids”.  There was no way I was going to get any reading done while my young children were out there playing in the waves.  I have a responsibility to keep them safe and make sure they don’t eat too much seaweed.

Then I thought about it a little bit more and realized it’s not about being a lifeguard for my kids as much as it is having a blast with them: “Brent, do you really want to stick your nose in a book when God’s creation is all around you shouting His glory and there are countless memories to be made with your children who will only be this young once?

While I was on vacation I did not read one sentence of the books that I packed (other than the Bible), but by God’s grace I prayed with my family, talked with my kids about God’s awesomeness in creation and wore myself out enjoying God’s grace with them.  When I first recognized that it was going to be difficult to get any reading done on vacation, I was disappointed, but as I look back I don’t feel bad about how I spent my time because worship took place.  And instead of it just being a solitary worship as I read a book on the beach that no one else was reading, it was a worship that included my family.

 

Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

