Not Content to Say, “I’ll Get ‘Em Next Time”

Yesterday I told the story of how I neglected to share the gospel with our service  agent at the car dealership where our van was being repaired.  After bringing the van back four times and speaking with this gentleman on each occasion, he thanked me for not getting in his face about their failure to fix the problem and I blew the opportunity to proclaim Christ.

In response to that post someone commented, “Brent, if your van is still having problems, then God may just give you the chance to make right your missed opportunity.”  This got me thinking, “Yes, but what if the van is fixed for good and I never see this service agent again?”  Certainly, I will trust the sovereignty of God to do what he sees fit.  But is there more I can do?  Wait… that’s right… the service agent gave me his business card before I left the dealership, which means I have his email and the dealership’s address.  I don’t have to wonder if I’ll ever get an opportunity to make right my missed opportunity because I can just send him a personal “thank you” card and explain to him the power of the gospel that saved me and can save him.

Now, I know that I could have gone online to get the dealership’s address and this man’s email, but the business card was the way in which the Lord reminded me that I shouldn’t be so quick to resign myself to failure, throw up my arms, and say, “I’ll get ’em next time”.  I can create the “next time” instead of wishing that it would just come my way.

O how we lack persistence in sharing the gospel!  Let us remember, Church, that one missed opportunity can turn into a a dozen new opportunities (many times, including one with the person you missed previously) if we will remember the tenacity with which God sought us with salvation and let his example and love fuel our witness.

 

Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “Not Content to Say, “I’ll Get ‘Em Next Time”

Leave a Reply

