What Are Your Functional Saviors?

In light of yesterday’s post, Learning to Be Suspicious of Yourself… Not God, I thought I’d provide these fill-in-the-blank statements (taken from The Bookends of the Christian Life by Jerry Bridges and Bob Bevington) with the hope that God will use them to help you identify the things you look to as “saviors” in the place of Christ.  It may that you have received Jesus as your Savior for the forgiveness of sin, but that does not mean you always carry him and his saving-ness over into your day-to-day life. Things like security, respect, pleasure, comfort, possessions, and significance are what we frequently look to as refuges when life gets hard.  These things don’t have the capacity to save us from the influence and effects of sin in our lives; they will fail us.  By God’s grace we need to identify these “functional saviors”, de-throne them from our hearts, and replace them with Christ.  The Savior of our past and future is also the Savior of our present.

 

-I am preoccupied with __________.


-If only _________, then I would be happy.


-I get my sense of significance from ____________.


-I would protect and preserve __________ at any cost.


-I fear losing _________.


-The thing that gives me the greatest pleasure is _________.


-When I lose ______ I get angry, resentful, frustrated, anxious, or depressed.


-For me, life depends on ____________.


-The thing I value more than anything in the world is _________.


-When I daydream, my mind goes to ___________.


-The best thing I can think of is __________.


-The thing that makes me want to get out of bed in the morning is ________.

 
Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

