Give Books For Christmas… Just Don’t Give Lame Books for Christmas

Last week a friend of mine walked into my office with a blog dea: book recommendations for people who are buying Christmas gifts for their family and friends.  Of course, he gave the suggestion because he wanted his wife to know what books to buy him for Christmas, but I still thought the idea a worthy one.  So, here are some books that have come out over the past year that you may want to pick up for your loved ones.  By the way, my friend Justin, wrote an excellent post a few years ago on the reasons why we should give books for Christmas.  You can read it here.

Books for any Christian:

1) Jesus + Nothing = Everything by Tullian Tchividjian – A book that tells of the freedom from self-righteousness that the gospel can bring us everyday.  An important work for practicing godliness that is fueled by gospel truth.

2) Gospel Wakefulness by Jared C. Wilson – A call for all Christians to wake up to the awesome realities of the gospel and stop living in indifference and apathy.

Books for theology lovers:

1) A New Testament Biblical Theology by G. K. Beale – I love that more and more books are being written that bring together the entire Bible as God’s story of redeeming a people for himself.  G.K. Beale has proven himself a thorough and accurate theologian.  This book is being  called his magnum opus.

2) Salvation Accomplished By the Son by Robert A. Peterson – This book looks like an excellent tool for helping you know the gospel more deeply so you can preach it to yourself more precisely.  It also has some great endorsements from Thomas Schreiner and John Frame.

3) Invitation to Biblical Interpretation by Andreas J. Kostenberger and Richard Patterson – The Bible is our final authority for life and godliness so we’d better know how to interpret it.  I just picked up this book myself and it looks like a well-balanced work on finding the meaning of the Scriptures.

Books for biography lovers:

1) Charles Hodge: Guardian of American Orthodoxy – I don’t know much about this man (though I want to), but he is said to be one of the most important theologians that America has ever produced, and this biography an apt account of his life and work.

2) Son of Hamas by Mosab Hassan Yousef and Ron Brackin – The story of how a Muslim man traveled the hard road from Islam to Christ.  Definitely on my list for 2012.

Books for parents: 

1) Give them Grace by Elyse Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson – I love the subtitle to this book: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus.  My wife is starting to read this book and I can’t wait to have her share its principles with me.

2) Loving the Little Years by Rachel Jankovic – This book is specifically written for mothers, but I’m sure that fathers also need to remember that the years when diaper-changing and tantrums abound are years to be thankful for.

Books for kids:

1) The Gospel Story Bible by Marty Machowski – In the tradition of The Jesus Storybook Bible and The Big Picture Story Bible comes a new resource that will further ingrain in your kids the truth that the whole Bible is about Jesus.

2) The Barber Who Wanted to Pray by R.C. Sproul – A beautifully-illustrated children’s book that tells the story of how Martin Luther taught his barber the principles of The Lord’s Prayer.

 
Subscribe in a reader

Advertisements

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “Give Books For Christmas… Just Don’t Give Lame Books for Christmas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: