Questions To Help You Evaluate Your Entertainment Choices

In our culture there are more ways to entertain ourselves than ever before.  You’d think that this reality would strengthen our resolve to sharpen our discernment for what we allow into our hearts and minds, but it seems like it has only helped us slacken our grip on that which is holy.  If we are going to be a people whose hearts are not dulled to the awesome truths of the gospel and the character of God, we need to do a better job of surrounding ourselves with things that will stimulate spiritual growth instead of stunt it.  Here are several questions to ask yourself to help you evaluate your entertainment choices (movies, TV, music, video games, websites, food, drink, etc.) and determine which of them may need to be replaced.

General Questions:

1)      Is it helpful/beneficial for me? – 1 Corinthians 6:12

2)      Am I enslaved to it?  Do I have to have it?  How would I feel if it was taken away? – 1 Corinthians 6:12

3)      Will it be dangerous to my body? – 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

4)      In regard to my thinking, is it true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, commendable, excellent, and worthy of praise? – Philippians 4:8

5)      Will it cause weaker believers to stumble in their walk with Christ? – 1 Corinthians 8:8-9

6)      Will it negatively affect my witness for Christ? – 1 Corinthians 10:32-33

7)      Does it violate my conscience? – Romans 14:23

8)      Does it bring glory to God? – 1 Corinthians 10:31

9)      Am I skipping/delaying something important for this?

10)   How much time have I already spent on this today?

11)   This week, in contrast to the time I’ve spent on this form of entertainment, how much time have I spent with God (Bible, prayer, church, etc.)?

Heart Questions:

1)      Why do I want to do this?

2)      Am I using this to seek comfort that I should be getting from God?

3)      What sinful temptations does this present?

4)      Am I deceiving myself into doing this with clever rationales and justifications?

5)      Am I just doing this because others are?

6)      How does this affect my relationship with God and others?

Content Questions:

1)      What is the worldview communicated in this?  What does it say about God, man, evil, truth, authority, etc.?

2)      What does it glamorize/value?

3)      Who are the heroes?  What makes them heroes in this context?

4)      Does it glorify sin or demonstrate sin’s consequences?

5)      Remembering that it takes a lot less than nudity to tempt me to lust, does it present sexual content?  Does it highlight the features of the female/male body?

6)      What does it deem as humorous?

7)      Is the violence in it gratuitous?

8)      Does it present materialism as the good life?

9)      Does it tempt me to compromise my beliefs?

10)   Does the artistry reflect God’s beauty, truth, and goodness (i.e. excellence in production)?

11)   Is it true to life?  Does it lead me to create unrealistic expectations for myself and others?

 
Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

