The Rangers, The World Series, and a Proper Perspective

Let me begin this post by saying that I am psyched that the Texas Rangers are going to the World Series for the second year in a row and I hope they win the whole shebang this time! I plan on watching or listening to the games with my family and cheering for Josh Hamilton and the boys in blue, but at the same time I plan on walking into this championship with a sober realization that my heart can very easily move from worshiping the risen Christ to worshiping a game or a player. If I’m not careful I will get swept up in the all the hype and excitement, and before I know it my happiness will depend on whether a guy I’ll never meet gets a base hit.

 
This knowledge about myself is leading me currently to create a proper perspective of things before I tune in this week. Here are a few things I’m reminding myself so that I don’ t put baseball on the throne of my heart:

 
1) The men playing this series can do things with their bodies that the vast majority of the world’s population can’t, but God gave them their bodies and their abilities.

 
2) Nelson Cruz is breaking some crazy batting records this post season, but Jesus rose from death never to die again (no contest!).

 
3) Baseball may me the greatest game that is played, but it is still just a game. These men are pushing themselves past their limits and making sacrifices, ultimately, to win a game. Jesus gave up his very life and sacrificed himself to save his enemies from eternal condemnation.

 
4) Most likely, before I die, I will live long enough to see 40 or 50 more World Series, which will all be won anew each year. The MLB champions are extremely temporary, but Jesus and his followers will live in victory forever.

 
5) In a month’s time, those who were obsessed with the World Series will have found something else to try and satisfy them. Baseball doesn’t have the capacity to hold our hearts, but God made us so that our hearts would only have rest and true delight in him.

 

If you’ve read this far, then perhaps you see me as the killjoy you weren’t looking for on a Tuesday morning.  But I’m not saying that you shouldn’t watch the World Series and I’m not saying that you shouldn’t enjoy it, but if we’re going to honor the One who is most worthy of honor and have our hearts filled with his delight, then the World Series must be put in its proper place.

 Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

