The Only One Who Can Truly Blow Your Mind

In college I encountered a lot of information that I didn’t understand at first.  My professors confronted me with concepts and formulas that were foreign to me; things I wondered if I would ever wrap my mind around.  But eventually, with some reading and focused thinking I would usually grasp the content and move on to the next hurdle.

Still, I know there are libraries full of information that I don’t understand in this world.  But just because I don’t understand these things doesn’t mean that there isn’t anyone who does…  I mean, someone had to write about them, right?

When it comes to God, however, I know there are realities about him that I, and everyone else in the world, do not understand, and will never understand.  Romans 11:33 says, “Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God!  How unsearchable are his judgments and unfathomable his ways!”  There are great minds that have helped us to think thoughts about God that we have never thought before, but there is no one who can tell us everything about him because his ways are “unfathomable”.

Here’s an exercise that I hope will move your heart to worship our transcendent God: take one of God’s attributes and think as deeply about that attribute as you possibly can.  Think about the many ways God has revealed this attribute to you and to the rest of his people throughout history.  Don’t be satisfied to simply skim the surface of it, but each time you feel like you’ve hit a wall in your thinking, go to Scripture verses that express this attribute to push you deeper. Give some undistracted time to this and don’t give up without a fight. Think and think and think some more until you begin to think the same things over again because your mind cannot possibly reach further.  Then, concerning that aspect of God’s character, remind yourself that there are vast oceans of truth beyond that point, and you’re only standing on the shore looking out over one of them!  An appropriate response, then, would be to put your face in the carpet and humbly worship the only one who can truly blow your mind.

 Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

