God… The Only One Who Won’t Break Under Pressure

Right now I am writing this post as I sit in an arm chair situated in the corner of our living room.  I sit in this chair often, but until this morning I never thought that maybe someday this chair would stop supporting me.  It could be next week…  I could plop down in this chair like I always do and it could totally snap under the pressure.  If that happened, what would my behavior around chairs be like?  I would be a lot more apprehensive about sitting in them.  I would probably do a little bit of testing to see if the chair I want to sit in could hold increasing amounts of weight before I could rest in it completely.  All of the sudden, with one incident, chairs aren’t as strong and sturdy as I once thought.  See, trials have a way of making us distrust the things we rely on in life.  This is something to praise God for…  let me explain.

God uses trials in our lives to strip away all the things we trust in that he knows will break under pressure.  It just so happens that anything we trust in besides God will break under pressure, but that doesn’t stop us from trusting in those things more than Him.  God knows He is the only one who won’t break under the pressure, so He sends us trials so that we will lean on Him instead of things that don’t have the capacity to hold our trust.  Are you going through some trial right now…  big or small?  Ask yourself, is this trial exposing something in my life that I am trusting in besides God?  Is it money?  Money runs out.  Is it your own personal strengths and abilities.  Those things begin to diminish in your later years.  Is it a parent or a spouse?  Those people aren’t immortal or all-powerful.  It could even be something as small as sleep.  God used a trial to show me that I was trusting sleep to give me the energy I needed to take care of my responsibilities instead of Him.  Because my trust was in sleep, when I didn’t get sleep I became anxious and angry thinking that I would not be able to perform my duties well.  Sleep does not have the capacity to hold my trust…  it breaks under the pressure of crying children and viruses that focus on the lower abdominal region.  In Psalm 18 David writes, “The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold” (v.2).  Too often we replace “The Lord” in that text with other things so that it reads “My savings account is my rock” or “My family is my rock”  God sends trials to show us that those rocks can be easily shattered, so that we will return to the only rock that can’t be shattered…  Himself!

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “God… The Only One Who Won’t Break Under Pressure

  • oddsparrowministries

    In Him we live and move and have our being. The reality is that whether we are conscious of it or not, we have no choice but to trust in God – He’s the only one doing the supporting? We deceive ourselves if we put our trust elsewhere. To apply your chair metaphor, it would be as if you gave glory to the lamp for supporting your weight as you sit. Thanks for the reminder to acknowledge God in ALL my ways and give Him thanks.

Leave a Reply

