I Love My Wife Because…

It sounds extremely romantic for me to tell my wife something like “I can’t live without you” or “I’d be lost without you”, but if you dissect these statements, they reveal a reality that she shouldn’t blush at.  What do these statements imply?  They imply, ultimately, that I need my wife.  This is not as romantic as Hollywood has deceived us into believing because if I tell her I need her in an ultimate sense, what I’m really saying is, “I’ve got no other options…  either I live with you or I don’t live at all.”  If she really thought about it, a statement like this should make her feel used; like she’s just my way of coping with life.

What would be something truly romantic I could say?  It should be something that expresses the reality that I don’t need her in an ultimate sense, but rather, I am with her because I want to be.  The reality is, any spouse has other options; there are tons of other fish in the sea and there is the single life as well.  So, if I want to say something romantic to my wife, I should let her know that with all the other options out there, I choose her everyday…  not because she’s a necessity, but because she’s my delight!

This is why God loves us.  He didn’t make us or save us because He needed us.  Paul says that God is not served by human hands “as though He needed anything” (Acts 17:25).  Yet we read verses like Romans 5:8, which say, “God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  God doesn’t need us but He chooses to love us anyway.  God had other options…  He didn’t have to make us and He didn’t have to save us, but He did, and it was His delight to do so.  What wondrous love is this?!

Two assignments: Craft a truly romantic statement for your spouse based on what you read and throughout the rest of today take opportunities to praise God for the love He gives you that He did not have to give

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

