The Love of Martyn Lloyd-Jones for His Wife

Recently, I finished preaching through The Sermon on the Mount, and, in looking back over my studies, found that my favorite commentary on this text is Martyn Lloyd-Jones’ work, Studies in the Sermon on the Mount.  During my use of this commentary, I ran across a letter Lloyd-Jones wrote to his wife, Bethan, in 1939.  His obvious love for her in this letter has only served to encourage me to read his work further.  A man who takes God’s Word seriously when it says he is to cherish his wife (Ephesians 5:28-29) is a man to listen to and emulate.  Here’s a portion of that letter:

My dear Bethan, 

        Thank you for your letter of this morning, though I am very angry that you should have been up till 11:30 pm writing it!  I see that you are quite incorrigible!  The idea that I shall become used to being without you is really funny.  I could speak for a long time on this subject.  As I have told you many, many times, the passing of the years does nothing but deepen and intensify my love for you.  When I think of those days in London in 1925 and ’26, when I thought that no greater love was possible, I could laugh.  But honestly, during this last year I had come to believe that it was not possible for a man to love his wife more than I loved you.  And yet I see that there is no end to love, and that it is still true that “absence makes the heart grow fonder.”  I am quite certain that there is no lover, anywhere, writing to his girl who is quite as mad about her as I am.  Indeed I pity those lovers who are not married…  (taken from The Christian Lover by Michael A.G. Haykin).

 

Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

