A Prayer For My Wife On Her Birthday

The Lord has given me the wonderful privilege of being married to my wife, Keri, for nearly 9 years.  I know God loves me because he has given her to me ’til death do us part.  Life with her just keeps getting better, but because I know putting up with me and being a mother to our three kids is like having four full-time jobs, I want to offer up this prayer to our God on her behalf.

Gracious Father, thank for saturating my life with your love through the gracious gift of Keri as my wife.

Thank you for saving her from her sins and your just anger against her through the blood of Your Son,

and thank you for using her as an instrument in bringing me to faith now twelve years ago.

Thank you for continually growing her into closer conformity with Christ,

and thank you for the rich fruit her life bears that my family receives the benefit of.

Father, please pour on her your enabling grace as she strives to be my helper,

and give her copious amounts of patience as she seeks to love me in spite of my repeated moments of thickness.

Lord, you know our children are crazy, so please help her constantly remember that you give us precisely what we need to become more like Jesus (Rom. 8:28-29).

In parenting our children, help her also to continually show them a balanced picture of what you are like, first, by example and second, by biblical instruction.

As she takes care of the tedious house chores that hardly seem to stay completed for longer than ten minutes, help her to remember that all labor done in your name is not wasted (1 Cor. 15:58).

As you grow her in the Faith, may you use her to disciple younger women, showing them that true biblical womanhood is a high calling that they should feel privileged to pursue (Titus 2:3-5).

Above all, Father, cause my wife to enjoy you with ever-exceeding delight so that her heart becomes more and more lost in yours.

In the name of Jesus Christ, who alone saves, Amen.


Subscribe in a reader

About Brent Osterberg

Ransomed sinner, husband to Keri, father to the kiddos three, associate pastor at Calvary Bible Church in Fort Worth, TX, and lover of most things epic. View all posts by Brent Osterberg

One response to “A Prayer For My Wife On Her Birthday

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

